All we need is Love

Image Courtesy :

Anahata Chakra or Heart Chakra,  is the most influential energy center out of the 7 chakras. Exploring divinity through pure love inspires this fourth chakra. A heart that is absolutely willing to give without restriction When the heart is open, a person feels optimistic, friendly, and motivated to believe in themselves. Building fulfilling relationships become easier when the Heart Chakra is balanced, as we become more compassionate and understanding towards others.

When the heart chakra opens, you’ll feel an abundance of empathy, compassion, and love. A balanced chakra allows people to be who they are, instead of attempting to dismiss or change according to external expectations. A person with an open Heart Chakra develops trust in them self and respects others.

This feeling of compassion & affection not just between two partners, but love in all its form and shape, love which surrounds us every day in our lives is deeply seeded into all our relationships in life. The selfless love a mother holds for her child, the unwavering affection we hold for all our loved ones.

This chakra is located at the center of the chest. It helps us embrace love and all that kindles it; compassion, empathy, and kindness. How we treat others is greatly influenced by it. Here we find the cosmic fuel for healthy relationships as this chakra inspires forgiveness, respect, and understanding. The Heart Chakra reminds us that we are all bonded through deep connection. We need love and we need one another.

 Love is in the air

 The element of Anahata Chakra or Heart Chakra is the Air or Vayu. The Air symbolizes freedom of expansion and breadth. A heart that is absolutely willing to give without restriction. Vayu is connected physically to the sense of touch and emotional feelings. When the heart is open, a person feels optimistic, friendly, and motivated to believe in themselves. Building fulfilling relationships becomes easier, as we become more compassionate and understanding towards others.

Signs of a Blocked Heart Chakra


Issues with the energy flow in the Heart Chakra can make us feel lonely, isolated, and unable to connect. This is because when we are wounded and feel stuck in the past it leads to anxiety. A person may be scared to share and trust any relationship. If you think you have been struggling with few or all of these issues in life  it's a clear sign that your heart needs to heal

  • Fear of rejection
  • Loss of trust in a committed relationship
  • Issues giving and receiving affection
  • Over dependency in a relationship
  • Distant behavior with people who care
  • Tough and unemotional appearance while feeling vulnerable
  • Physical symptoms such as heart palpitation, poor blood circulation,

How to balance this Chakra and heal your heart

Pranayama – Breathing exercises

As mentioned earlier the fourth chakra element is Air so breath work is a gateway to opening your heart chakra. One of the best breath work techniques that not only balances the right and left brain hemispheres but also opens the heart is Anulom Vilom. Practicing Anulom Vilom frequently brings calmness to both body and mind.

Green diet for balancing energy

 The predominant color of Anahata Chakra is green. Eating foods of the same color as the chakra you are trying to heal can balance the energy flow around that area. Green & leafy vegetables are also recommended by expert nutritionists for a healthy body and mind.

Daily affirmations build confidence

Affirmations – can help to increase the positive energy associated with the Heart Chakra. Keeping a journal of gratitude helps in acknowledging the gifts of the present moment.

Yoga Poses:

Upward Dog:

Strengthens your back and opens the chest for better posture. Improves lung capacity by boosting your circulation.

Camel Pose:

Opens the chest and shoulders to relieve back tension and increase flexibility in the spine. Improves lung circulation and lowers blood pressure. Stimulates the nervous system to boost overall energy.

In conclusion your heart is meant to give and experience love, The energy that the Heart Chakra manifests has a deep impact on our personality. When this chakra is balanced you have unconditional love for yourself and others. You act from a place of warmth and compassion. You know how to treat people with kindness and care, understanding that everyone deserves respect. Instead of trying to change people, you accept them as they are, warts and all. The word Anahata itself means “unhurt”. When the Anahata is properly aligned you’re able to move past hurt through forgiveness and self-love. Most importantly you’re able to accept love from others, understanding that you as much as anyone else deserves kindness.